Shadowed Twin - The Story of Spleen

For artistic creations in text format.

Moderators: KingOfDoma, NebulaQueen

Spleen
I put a BOMB inside EVERY BAD GUY!

Shadowed Twin - The Story of Spleen

Unread postby Spleen » Wed Jan 22, 2003 5:34 pm

(Hey, this is my first attempt at a fic. If anything, it'll attempt to explain why my avatar is called Spleen. Hope you enjoy it.)

On the outskirts of Doma existed a rather sizable farm, run by a man and his wife, two well-to-do farmers. Unlike many in the trade, they could read and write well, and knew all sorts of things in many topics. However, the wife was barren. Try as he might (and by the gods did he try!), her husband could not get her to bear children.

It came to pass one day that an old pilgrim, a holy man of the gods, passed through that part of Doma and saw the farmhouse, which he reasoned probably had much to spare of its wealth. He worshipped no particular god, for he held favor with all of Gaera's deities and did not see fit to choose just one to worship above all others

The pilgrim went to the house to ask for food. The husband, his face red and drenched with tears, answered his knock at the door. "My wife," he said, "is sick with a horrible disease. I must pray to the gods for her recovery. The only reason I even answered your knock is because I suspected you to be the long-overdue physician we sent for. You are obviously not he, so be gone! Return when she has passed and I am done with my mourning, and you may receive much food, as I will no longer need half of it."

Stricken by the man's plight, the pilgrim offered his help, which the workworn farmer accepted at length. He led him into the richly-decorated house and to his comatose wife's side. The old holy man did not cease his prayers for a day and a night, as it was morning when he came, and when the first rays of the sun came through the window and struck the woman's face, she awoke as though from a leisurely nap.